Filing Requirements

Ed Stiner - Scenic 2

JEFFERSON COUNTY

REGISTER OF DEEDS

FILING REQUIREMENTS

All Documents

  • Property in Jefferson County
  • Original document
  • Document must be dated
  • Examine whether the document is taxable or not
  • Name of preparer of instrument (Except Releases)
  • Must be signed
  • Notarized with complete notary acknowledgement
  • (Notarization is optional for Leases, Bylaws & Contracts) -Date notarized
  • Date notary commission expires
           **If missing seal or notary commission date, check state requirements to see if they
              are necessary
  • Check payable to Register of Deeds or Bill Garrett
  • Make sure the check is dated & signed

 Self-Addressed stamped envelope included

                 **If no postage is sent check to see if the company has an escrow account

**Certified copy from the courts must be signed by the clerk & sealed

***The Re-Recording of any instruments require that all original grantor(s) resign & be re-acknowledged. If you are unable to get the instrument resigned then a Scrivener’s Affidavit is acceptable and it will be indexed as an Affidavit.

Affidavit of Heirship

  • Name of Deceased Individual
  • List of Heirs
  • Affiant must sign

Amendment of Deed of Trust

  • Original reference number(s)
  • If it amends the amount, must state the amount of increase in the Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $________, if no increase insert $0.00
  • A $250 or double the tax penalty, whichever is greater, applies when recorded over 60 days of the executed date
  • First $2000.00 is not exempt

Articles of Amendment

Articles of Dissolution

Articles of Incorporation

Articles of Merger

Articles of Organization

  • These all pertain to Charter’s filed with the Secretary of State
  • Principal office must be located in Davidson County
  • Cover letter from the state and original document

Assignment of DOT

  • Assignor & assignee
  • Debtor’s name
  • Instrument number of assigned document
  • Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $0
    (If amount is listed taxes must be paid)

Charter

  • Principal office must be located in Davidson County
  • Cover letter from the state and original document

Deed of Trust

  • Debtor name
  • Secured party name
  • Trustee name
  • Property Description
  • Current derivation clause
  • Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $____________________.

Easements

  • Oath of consideration, taxable
  • Proper signatures

Final Decree of Divorce

  • Certified Copy from the Court
  • Real property being divested out of and vested into

Greenbelt Assessments

  • Approved by tax assessor

Military Discharge

  • No charge for recording or for certified copies
  • Give individual the option to remove their Social Security # from the document
  • *If they choose to do so, make a copy of the MD mark thru the SS# then scan the copy
  • No longer public record

Modification Agreement       

  • If it modifies the amount, must state the amount of increase in the Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $________, if no increase insert $0.00
  • A $250 or double the tax penalty, whichever is greater, applies when executed over 60 days of the prepared date
  • Need original reference number

Mortgage        

  • Debtor name
  • Secured party name
  • Property description & current derivation clause
  • Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purposes is $____________________.

Notice of Completion

  • Name of owner
  • Name of contractor/owner
  • Proper address/lot & subdivision
  • Date of completion

Quitclaim Deed

  • New owner name and address
  • Tax bill name and address
  • Map and parcel
  • Grantor and grantee names
  • Convey’s interest only (no have and to hold language)
  • Does not warrant title
  • Property description & current derivation clause
  • Oath of consideration may have $0 or actual consideration

Ed Stiner - Scenic 3Scriveners Affidavit

  • Reference number of instrument being corrected
  • Can attach an original document that has already been recorded
  • Borrower/Trustee/Lender or Seller/Buyer

Subdivision Plats

  • Two (2) - Paper copy of plat
  • Signature & dated of planning commission
  • Signature and seal of surveyor
  • Signature & dated by Owner

Subordination Agreement

  • Reference #’s of original DOT and the subordinate DOT
  • Subordinate Lender
  • Borrowers
  • Original Lender

Warranty Deed          

  • Name and address of new owner
  • Tax bill name & address
  • Map and parcel number(s)
  • Oath of consideration
  • Property description & derivation clause
  • Buyer & Seller

Wills   

  • Certified copies from probate